Khara Ledonne: Art Around Your Neck

Khara Ledonne switches from painting huge scale murals to teeny tiny lockets. I first fell in love with her whimsical lockets about the size of a traditional marble in Lincoln Square in Chicago at a small art store called Sacred Art. One of my friends Lisa is the Curator there. I gasped and opened all of the tiny lockets revealing some of the coolest illustrations I’ve seen in awhile. Of course I begged Dustin for one because 1. it was creative jewelry 2. she hand paints the cute lockets! Somehow the beautiful lockets didn’t shake from my memory in December and I casually mentioned one as a Christmas list wish. To my surprise Dustin tracked the locket down and had one custom ordered for me with a kite painted inside. It is so beautiful and I couldn’t help but research the artist and post about it here! Not only is the locket beautiful, it comes in a very cute altoid-like box (mine had birds on it) to keep it safe in. Khara has done some amazing works both tiny and large. She said “Enormous, created worlds, and teeny, created worlds are endlessly engaging for me.  Someday I’ll build a house and really go nuts.” on her website. What an artist after my own heart! Check her out here and on etsy here to purchase her lockets. You won’t regret it!

 

Leave a Reply

